Início > Blogosfera, Vida na Europa > Why do you blog?

Why do you blog?

My boyfriend just asked me the following question: why do people blog? He was actually interested in knowing why am I going to blog, but I found it a relevant question.

I think people blog because they want to express themselves or show a knowledge about a subject related to their job. Some people make money with their blogs, if they become popular and companies get interested in advertising on them. More and more companies are starting their own blog to become closer to their customers and also to “please” Google Search Engine”, having a better chance to get a good position in the rank for their key words.

I am sure that almost everyone who spares some minutes or hours from their day has a good personal or professional reason to write a blog. I don’t.

I am not going to make money from it. I am not even sure what I am going to be writing about. I am living in Ireland and I am not working at the moment, therefore I don’t have a prefessional reason. “So, why are you going to blog, Paula?”, I can imagine my boyfriend’s puzzled face repeating this question to me.

Well, I don’t know yet. Maybe because I enjoy writing. Maybe because I am not working at the moment and I have plenty of time to do so. For sure it will be a challenge for me because I decided to write the entire blog in English.

I actually have an idea of what I will be writing about on this blog. I am brazilian and I have been living in Europe for two years now. That means that I had to renew my visa every year. For that, I had to pay for a terrible full time course every time my visa expired. My student visa would give me the permition to work only 20 hours per week and for that reason I could never apply for a proper job. Every time I decided to travel I had to get the Non EU queu and answer to an infinitude amount of annoying questions. That was all before.

Now, thanks to my great grand father, I am an Italian Citizen. I am just back from an amazing four months in Italy where I applied for this so dreamed of document. And now I have it and I want to see if this can change my life in Europe. I want to write about my post-Italian citizenship life.

I am in Ireland now but I won’t stay here much longer. Where am I going to go? I don’t know yet. Suddenly, all Europe has opened it’s doors for me and I can choose. That’s what this blog will be about: my choices, my impressions and thoughts, things happening around me, wherever I am in Europe

To whom am I going to write this blog for? While was I applying for my Italian citizenship I was writing a blog that was more a diary about my life in Italy and everything I was doing to get the document. Thanks to Google, some Brazilians applying for the Italian citizenship found my blog and contacted me. It was very nice to get to know them and to be able to help people with my own experience. I even got to meet one of them personally and we had some beers in Turin.

Unfortunately, I don’t think the same will happen with this blog. It won’t have a particular topic that could happen to help someone. But anyway, if for some reason you are reading this and want to get in contact, I will be more then happy to hear from you.

  1. Nenhum comentário ainda.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Deixe uma resposta

